Client News

15th June 2017

Winners announced for the 7th Annual Enterprise Awards

Gala ceremony gathers the UK technology industry to celebrate entrepreneurs

Winners have just been announced for the 7th annual Enterprise Awards. Thirteen entrepreneurs were honoured for their achievements at a ceremony last night in London’s prestigious Dorchester Hotel.

Uniquely focused on Founders, rather than Companies, the Enterprise Awards recognises those that demonstrate vision, growth, innovation, funding, use of capital, use of resources, strategy, execution, ambition, and determination to succeed. Winners join an impressive alumni which includes the founders of British unicorns FanDuel and Transferwise.

John O’Connell, Chairman of the Scaleup Group and founder of the Enterprise Awards, said: “From edtech entrepreneurs to cyber security specialists, fintech innovators and engineers revolutionising the energy industry – the winners of this year’s Enterprise Awards are at the forefront of their fields. They exemplify the mission of the awards to recognise leaders at every stage in their careers that have or will make a significant impact on their industry.

“Entrepreneurship is key to the success of the UK economy, and we continue to be encouraged and impressed by the standard of leaders in this country through the Enterprise Awards. This year was record breaking for us in terms of applications which is indicative of the number of quality of innovative founders we have here in the UK. Two-thirds of this year’s Enterprise Awards entrants are growing at over 50% per annum; 5 of those shortlisted for the Enterprise Awards are growing at 100% per annum and over £300 million growth capital has been raised from institutions. I’m already excited to see next year’s crop.”

The winners are:

Young Entrepreneur
Christopher Baker-Brian, Co-founder & CTO, Bboxx

Evergreen Entrepreneur
Imam Hoque, Founder & COO, Quantexa

Female Entrepreneur
Julie Walters, Founder, Raremark

Social Enterprise
Laurence Kemball-Cook, Founder & CEO, Pavegen

Public Sector
Paul Volkaerts, Founder & CEO, Nervecentre Software

Emerging Entrepreneur
Asher Ismail, CEO, MIDRIVE

Developing Entrepreneur
Terry Walby, Founder & CEO, Thoughtonomy

Enterprise Entrepreneur
John Snyder, Founder & CEO, Grapeshot

Scale Up Award
Alastair Paterson & James Chappell, Co-founders & CEO & CTO, Digital Shadows
Saurav Chopra, Co-founder & CEO, Perkbox

Judges Award
Jacyn Heavens, EMEA CEO, Epos Now

Team Award
Poppy Gustafsson, Founder & CEO, Darktrace

Listed Company Award
Alastair Bathgate, CEO, Blue Prism

Mentor of the Year
Dr. Steve Garnett

Held in association with the Worshipful Company of Information Technologists, the event brought together 400 members of the technology and investment community. Proceeds from the night will be donated to Sherry Coutu’s Founders4Schools, which helps schools find inspiring business leaders to speak to children in the classroom.

Details about the Enterprise Awards and the list of nominees in all categories are available at

The Enterprise Awards has once again attracted some big name sponsors for the event – Sage, NatWest, Questers, RandDTax, Scaleup Group, Silverpeak, Smith & Williamson, TechMarketView and Stifel.
The event was organised by ScaleUp Group and tx2events.

Support was provided by FieldHouse Associates and Whiteoaks.

A fascinating, in-depth analysis of scooter startups - Europe's latest trend which is still banned in the UK @TargetGlobalVC @InMotionVenture… via @Siftedeu #VentureCapital #Investment #transport

About 14 hours ago from FieldHouse's Twitter via Twitter Web Client

Let's get started

If you'd like to work with us,
we'd love to hear from you

FieldHouse Associates

Mercury House
109-117 Waterloo Road

85 Regent Street